Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards



  • eIntegrity
Availability: In Stock

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards

This online medical course equips medical practitioners with the knowledge to work as mental health assessors in relation to Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) legislation. This UK legislation is designed to protect people who lack the mental capacity to make decisions for themselves and is equally relevant internationally.

The Deprivation of Liberty Dafeguards elearning course has been developed in the UK by the Royal College of Psychiatrists, the Department of HealthHealth Education England and elearning for healthcare.


In Partnership with: eLearning for Healthcare logo

Royal College of Psychiatrists logo


Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) is a legal framework in the United Kingdom. It provides protection to individuals who lack capacity to make decisions about their care and treatment. The safeguards were introduced under the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). They were designed to ensure that any deprivation of liberty is in the person’s best interests, is necessary and proportionate, and is carried out in a lawful manner.


  • Equips doctors to undertake the role of DoLS assessors
  • Covers all aspects of UK Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) legislation
  • Includes case studies and valuable insights from service users and carers

DoLS assessor training

This elearning programme includes:

  • A pre-test on the Mental Capacity Act (MCA)
  • Five knowledge sessions (each taking 20 to 30 minutes)
  • A final test of understanding


Please note that you do need to fulfil two important criteria before you complete this online programme.

You must:

  • be approved under section 12 of the Mental Health Act 1983; or
  • be a registered medical practitioner who has at least three years’ post-registration experience in the diagnosis or treatment of mental disorders*

* to the satisfaction of the relevant supervisory body.

elearning Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards includes the following:

  • Assessment on the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) (you must pass with a score of 85% or more to move onto the knowledge sessions)
  • Legal and Process Overview
  • Best Interests, Age and No Refusal Assessments
  • The Mental Capacity Act
  • The Mental Health Assessment
  • The Eligibility Assessment
  • DoLS Test of Understanding (you must pass with a score of 85% or more for the DoLS certificate)


Coming Soon!

For institutional purchase or bulk licences of our online medical courses, please contact us.


50 Hours.




Suitable for all healthcare professionals, nurses and young professionals.


12 months from registration on LMS.